JOIN US

 

Richmond, a beautiful island city located in the southwest corner of mainland BC, (the healthiest place to live in Canada!), is home to the 100 members of the BCRMTA-Richmond Branch. Our Branch, established in 1971, reflects the diversity of the city in language, culture and musical interests and is the geographic centre for our members who live throughout the Lower Mainland. The Richmond Branch actively promotes music in the community by assisting in the sponsorship of the Pacific Piano Competition and by hosting over 20 yearly recitals. In addition, our students can be heard performing at a variety of events and festivals throughout the Lower Mainland. During the year, the Branch awards certificates, trophies and scholarships to students in the woodwind, string, voice and piano disciplines and also recognizes students who volunteer their musical skills for community service. The Branch members meet during the year to participate in workshops, masterclasses and presentations by guest clinicians. We welcome requests. Parents inquiring about a teacher for their children, adults wishing to pursue their musical goals, music specialists seeking a professional organization, all are invited to contact us.
Email to info@bcrmta.com
Telephone 604-268-9559 or contact a teacher directly.

Website: www.bcrmta.com

President: Mimi Ho
mimiymho@gmail.com
604-837-7233

Past-President: Gloria Cristobal
moodymusic@shaw.ca
604-275-7144

1st Vice President: Victoria Warfield
vwarfield@shaw.ca
604-275-3285

2nd Vice President: Vacant

Treasurer: Florence Ip
ipflorence@hotmail.com
604-771-2755

Secretary: Tina Wang
info.musicalife@gmail.com
778-318-5999

Provincial Delegates: Lillian Chan, Gloria Cristobal,
Victoria Warfield, Queenie Yang

Members at Large: Lillian Chan, Grace Hoff,
Ildiko Skeldon-Huber

Referrals: Trudy Morse
ppc88keys@gmail.com
604-241-8834
or
Joanne Chng
joanne.chng@rbc.com
604-268-9559

Memberships: Lois Kerr
loiskerr88@gmail.com
604-274-1980

 

The Richmond Branch of the BCRMTA presented our annual Winter Wonderland Performance at the Richmond City Hall on Saturday December 10, 2016 from 1 to 2 pm. Students achieving high marks and medal winners in 2016 RCM exams performed.

AppleMark

April RCM exams Medal recipients (5): Shawn He, Kevin Wang, Lauren Liang, Angeline Syyong and Valerie Leung;

June RCM exams Medal recipients (8): Bethanie Choi, Kyle Cheng, Mina Stefanovic, Chelsea Huang, Xingru Liu, James Wu, Bonnie Zhai, and Edward Zhang from our October 16th First-Class Honours recital.

Library Display
Library Display

Member Matthew Chan recently was one of 8 participants in the Princeton (NJ) Festival Conducting Workshop under Dr. Jan Harrington.DSC_9478-001

WenWen Wang receives the Provincial BCRMTA Pedagogy award (May 2016)

L to R: Lois Kerr, Wen Wang, Trudy Morse and Mimi Ho.

 

Linda-Ruan

Linda Ruan – CFMTA National Piano Competition 3rd place (Aug 2015)

She also won the Marek Jablonski Prize for best performance of a Chopin Composition.

Recital May 1BCRMTA Richmond Branch’s First-Class Honours Recital held on Sunday May 1, 2016 at South Arm United Church. Students achieving high marks in the Jan 2016 RCM exams performed and medals were presented.

The names of students: Alexander Jassal, Vanessa Huang, Kaydence Yu, Hilary Pang, Janet Yi, Yuhan Guang, Amy Wong, Ethan Skipper, Stephany Chuang, Alia Xu, Ziyi Zhang, Daniel Lin. Pictured with association president Mimi Ho.

 


The Richmond Branch of the BCRMTA presented a Scholarship Recital Sunday, April 10 at 1:30 pm at South Arm United Church.

FCH 160410

Top exam marks of 2014-2015 combined were awarded scholarships. Community Service scholarships for 2015 were also given.

Front row: Sean Creighton, Kevin Wang, Moses Cheung, Cora Fahlman, Lauren Ho, Sara Noorpour, and Hannah Bacon.

Back row: Maggie Zhang, Wen Wang, Amy Wong, Patrick Creighton, Jaimie Muller, Bill Yang, Alia Xu, Sarah Ortega, Angeline Syyong, and President Mimi Ho.

 

Winners of the Winifred Proud Memorial Scholarships for top results in Grade 9 and 10 were presented scholarships by Mrs. Colleen Myskiw, daughter of Mrs.Proud.

Pictured: Emily Shi, Mrs. Myskiw, and Edward Zhang

Photo credit: Trudy Morse

FCH 160410 Proud

Teachers are listed alphabetically by the discipline in which they are registered with the BCRMTA. Most of the following teachers also teach theoretical subjects.
  • Do NOT contact any member with unsolicited services or offers
RICHMOND (in Public School areas)
BLUNDELL/FERRIS
Composition
Edward Han Jiang 778-881-1003  edward.jianghan@gmail.com
Flute
Natasha Foresi  natasha@natashaforesiflute.ca
Piano
Jennie Chen 604-277-8942  jenchlin@yahoo.ca
Julia Cheung 604-377-3118  jcmusic@shaw.ca
Robert Dyck 604-270-6414  rdsounds@shaw.ca
Edward Han Jiang 778-881-1003  edward.jianghan@gmail.com
Janet Ho 604-839-8538  hojanet@gmail.com
Jing Lai
Betty Lee 604-889-9813  leebetty@hotmail.com
Grace Lee 604-204-2423  gleebcrmta@gmail.com
Tanya Shevtsov 604-241-7534  tanyashevtsova@gmail.com
Victor Shevtsov 604-241-7534  vittapiano@gmail.com
Glenys Warriner 604-274-7996  bwarriner@telus.net
Theory – Professional Theory Instructor
Jennie Chen 604-277-8942  jenchlin@yahoo.ca
Edward Han Jiang 778-881-1003  edward.jianghan@gmail.com
Voice
Vivien Wong 604-728-8181
BRIGHOUSE
Piano
Janet Gonzales 604-277-1968  janetque@yahoo.com
Donna Lee-Leung 604-272-5020  dl6431@gmail.com
Victoria Moiseyeva 604-271-3009  victoria_music@telus.net
Alice Tang 604-278-0171  aliceykt@shaw.ca
CITY CENTRE
Conducting
Matthew Chan 778-323-8535  matthew@lifemusique.com
Piano
Lillian Chan 778-288-1128  franzliszt22@yahoo.com
Marie Chan 604-231-9908  mariemchan@gmail.com
Matthew Chan 778-323-8535  matthew@lifemusique.com
Michael Chen (organ) 604-781-1513  chenlomusic@hotmail.com
Katharine Li 778-882-2131  bravomusicstudio@yahoo.ca
GARDEN CITY
Accordion
Queenie Yang 778-991-0389  queenieyang86@gmail.com
Flute
Tony Sun 604-581-3186  tonysuns@gmail.com
Piano
Irena Altshuler 604-278-5413  almike1331@yahoo.ca
Connie Chiu 604-241-1220  conniechiu@shaw.ca
Jia Feng 778-378-5588  jovon81@hotmail.com
KC Foong 604-613-9382  broadwaykc@gmail.com
Inga Jansone 778-223-8191  inga.jansone@gmail.com
Dorothy Lau 604-272-0826  dorolau@shaw.ca
Doris Lin 778-834-7555  dorislin12@gmail.com
Qin Lin Lin 604-716-0477  qllhelen@hotmail.com
Ildiko Skeldon-Huber 604-821-0118  mypianostudio1@gmail.com
Tony Sun 604-581-3186  tonysuns@gmail.com
Sandra Tong 604-272-6632  syytong@gmail.com
Shauna Wang 778-891-6635  shauna_wang512@hotmail.com
Rao (Emily) Wu 604-812-7678  vanemilywu@gmail.com
Queenie Yang 778-991-0389  queenieyang86@gmail.com
Theory – Professional Theory Instructor
Irena Altshuler 604-278-5413  almike1331@yahoo.ca
GILMORE/GRAUER
Piano
Joanne Chng 604-275-9892  joannechng@shaw.ca
Tyler Fleming 604-271-0820  tylerfleming1@yahoo.ca
HAMILTON
Piano
Karen Mofakham 604-520-0774  kmofamusic@hotmail.com
HUGH BOYD/SEAFAIR
Piano
Vivian P.H. Chan 778-288-6783  vivianpianostudio@gmail.com
Betty Feng 604-272-4183  bettyfeng@yahoo.com
Peter Friesen (Jazz Piano) 604-273-5764  pfriesen@telus.net
Mimi Ho 604-837-7233  mimiymho@gmail.com
Jonathan Li 604-351-9069  jonli5593@gmail.com
Violin/Viola
Lorraine Grescoe 604-277-3030  lggv@telus.net
KING GEORGE PARK
Piano
Emma Yang 604-244-7338  emmayang12691@yahoo.com.tw
LONDON
Flute
Sylvia Tam 778-388-3802  tamszewai@hotmail.com
MAPLE LANE/SOUTH CENTRAL
Piano
Grace Hoff 604-274-3042  ghoff@bcrmta.com
McNAIR/SHELLMONT
Piano
Gloria Cristobal 604-275-7144  moodymusic@shaw.ca
Victoria Warfield 604-275-3285  vwarfield@shaw.ca
Kitty Yeung 604-275-9351  kittyyeung62@hotmail.com
Saxophone
Tina Wang 778-318-5999  info.musicalife@gmail.com
Theory – Professional Theory Instructor
Kitty Yeung 604-275-9351  kittyyeung62@hotmail.com
NORTH CENTRAL/CAMBIE
Piano
Mary Ann Cayetano 604-270-0191  mcpianomusic@gmail.com
Rebecca Chan 604-783-3135  rebeccachan.music@gmail.com
SOUTH ARM
Guitar
Galina Jitlina 604-241-3964  galina@galinaguitar.com
Piano
Trudy Morse 604-880-9877  ppc88keys@gmail.com
Andrew Warriner 604-729-2614  warriner.andrew@gmail.com
Cindy Yee 604-726-1611  cindy_yee@shaw.ca
Theory – Professional Theory Instructor
Michael Morse 604-241-8834  theoryspecialist@gmail.com
Trudy Morse 604-880-9877  ppc88keys@gmail.com
STEVESTON
Piano
Rada Bukhman 604-760-7212  reminor123@gmail.com
Chee-Hwa Chiang 604-204-2081  chiangfang@hotmail.com
Florence Ip 604-771-2755  ipflorence1010@gmail.com
Prudence Leung 604-277-8802  pruleung@yahoo.com
Xiao Li 778-836-3988  mpf_lixiao@hotmail.com
Galina Mannheim 604-336-1250
Stephanie May 604-839-8119  pianowithstephanie@gmail.com
Rowena Silver Bridson
Victoria Smus 604-241-9543  victoriasmus@gmail.com
Ya-Ling Tan 604-272-8998  interact247@hotmail.com
Angela Yu-Chan 604-551-8663  angela.yuchan@gmail.com
Voice
Rowena Silver Bridson
TERRA NOVA/THOMPSON
Piano
Vivian Chan 604-241-0686  pianovivian@gmail.com
Meggie Hu 604-275-9887  meggiehu.com@gmail.com
Jason Hui 604-619-5656  rcm102276@gmail.com
Olga Ioutskevitch  olgai@shaw.ca
Lois Kerr 604-274-1980  loiskerr88@gmail.com
Amelia (Sau Man) Lau 778-683-2820  amelialau@yahoo.com
Fiona Tsang 604-303-9587  tsang_fiona@hotmail.com
Arline Witrisna 604-782-2117  arlinewit@hotmail.com
Holly Wong 604-284-3689  hollypiano@yahoo.com
Theory – Professional Theory Instructor
Jason Hui 604-619-5656  rcm102276@gmail.com
Violin
Thomas Wang 604-278-1975  wangmabel19@gmail.com
LOWER MAINLAND – BURNABY/VANCOUVER
Flute/Piccolo
Christine Yeung 604-760-6308  yeungchristine@shaw.ca
Piano
Danea Chim 604-271-7900  cfchim@gmail.com
Sue Huang  yehshihhuang@hotmail.com
Ting-I Huang 604-263-7059  tingihuang@yahoo.com
Irena Koprivica 604-800-9817  irena@iqnova.com
Winnie Lau 604-272-2723  winnielauwc@yahoo.com
Joni Leung 604-438-3106  leungja@shaw.ca
Joanne Sakumoto-Chan 604-738-3579  chan4266@shaw.ca
Tina Wong 778-895-6833  wong_tina@hotmail.com
Ivy Yau 604-732-1382  ivy.yau@live.com
Sharon Yau 604-732-1382  sharon.yau@gmail.com
Amy Yen 604-767-9227  yenamy@hotmail.com
Fiona ChengCheng Zhang 604-358-6181  fionazhang.piano@gmail.com
Maggie Zhang 778-836-8976  wingrudan@yahoo.com
Joy Zhao 778-891-2660  joyzhao@gmail.com
Rachel Zong 604-767-1830  rachelzong@yahoo.ca
Violin
Phyllis Ho 604-773-4288  violinclasses@gmail.com
Voice
Julia Walmsley 778-870-9447  juliawalmsleymusic@gmail.com
DELTA/LADNER/SURREY
Guitar (Contemporary)
Aaron Joyce  aaronjoycemusic@gmail.com
Piano
Michelle Jones  jones-inc@telus.net
Karen Nakajima 604-218-5700  karen.nakajima@gmail.com
Jaap Teer 604-590-9180
Wen Wang 604-537-5695  xuanwenwang@hotmail.com
Theory – Professional Theory Instructor
Karen Nakajima 604-218-5700  karen.nakajima@gmail.com
Voice
Jaap Teer 604-590-9180